GSB Forums
Not logged in [Login - Register]

Futures and forex trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could
potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without
jeopardizing onesí financial security or life style. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only
those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of
future results
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
 Pages:  1  ..  3    5
Author: Subject: what cpu/hardware to run GSB on
admin
Super Administrator
*********




Posts: 2324
Registered: 7-4-2017
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 6-12-2019 at 08:29 AM


Quote: Originally posted by coccigelus  
Hello Peter,

Did You buy the new ryzen as You have hinted at the other forum? I am considering for myself although I am worried for the applications I am using.

Regarding the issue You have had with Threadripper here an article that could explain what could have happened:

https://www.extremetech.com/computing/302650-how-to-bypass-m...


amd epyc 7601 32 core cpu speed was 50% that of dual e5-2680v2


View user's profile View All Posts By User
coccigelus
Junior Member
**




Posts: 45
Registered: 11-7-2018
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 6-12-2019 at 12:12 PM


Not sure which generation is but It looks at least the previous one. Newer ryzen models 3950x 3900x etc and new threadripper have a sensible higher clock. (very close to the 9900k) I don't know if that make any difference with your app.

However, from the article I posted, the issue discovered that affect new gen. ryzen with Matlab is a concern. In the article They show how to avoid the issue with a batch file, but anyway this could be the case with any other app that is optimized with intel processors. I wonder if that is the case as well with your app. Currently this is the major issue I have with AMD as I am expecting to get the max computing power from the app I am using.


View user's profile View All Posts By User
curt999
Junior Member
**




Posts: 51
Registered: 25-7-2017
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 6-12-2019 at 08:10 PM


Has anyone done before after testing on amd CPU using the mkl enabler? I have some amd servers here I will test but gsb does not use the mkl library since it's written in c# I believe..I've done testing with opteron epyc and the performance is horrible

View user's profile View All Posts By User
coccigelus
Junior Member
**




Posts: 45
Registered: 11-7-2018
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 7-12-2019 at 06:34 AM


https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/hpc/How-To-Use-MKL-with-AM...

View user's profile View All Posts By User
curt999
Junior Member
**




Posts: 51
Registered: 25-7-2017
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 7-12-2019 at 03:12 PM


I've tested opteron and epyc I saw no performance gain if anything it was slower. Like I said gsb doesn't use the mkl library like matlab

View user's profile View All Posts By User
 Pages:  1  ..  3    5

  Go To Top

Powered by XMB 1.9.11
XMB Forum Software © 2001-2017 The XMB Group
[Queries: 28] [PHP: 50.7% - SQL: 49.3%]